Back to Faculty Directory
Photo of Milliron, Delia
Office Location: GLT 1.230 & CPE 2.802E

Delia Milliron

Department Chair and Professor

Bill L. Stanley Endowed Leadership Chair in Chemical Engineering
Ernest Cockrell, Sr. Chair in Engineering #1

Department Research Areas:
Advanced Materials, Polymers and Nanotechnology

Research website

Research Presentation for Prospective Graduate Students - Video

Educational Qualifications

Postdoctoral Researcher, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center (2004-2005)
Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley (2004)
A.B., Chemistry and Materials Science and Engineering, Princeton University (1999)

Courses Taught

CHE 102 Introduction to Chemical Engineering
CHE 350 Chemical Engineering Materials
CHE 379/384T Materials Physics
CHE 387K Advanced Thermodynamics


Chemical synthesis and assembly of nanostructured electronic and electrochemical materials, processing-structure-property relationships, energy and electronic devices.


Our research synthesizes the fundamental chemistry of colloidal nanocrystals, the development of methods for their integration into novel nanomaterials and the systematic investigation of their properties and applications. We are a collaborative team of chemists, materials scientists, and engineers motivated by the challenges of next-generation electronic devices and energy technologies.


Awards & Honors

  • Materials Research Society (MRS) Medal Award, 2023
  • Nanoscale Science and Engineering (NSEF) Forum Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), 2023
  • National Academy of Inventors (NAI), Senior Member, 2023
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Inorganic Nanoscience Award, 2019
  • Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Engineering, TAMEST, 2018
  • Norman Hackerman Award, Welch Foundation, 2017
  • Sloan Research Fellowship, 2016
  • Defense Science Study Group member, 2016-2017
  • Caltech Resnick Institute Resonate Award, 2015
  • DOE Early Career Research Program Award, 2010-2015
  • R&D 100 Award – Universal Smart Windows, 2013
  • Mohr Davidow Ventures Innovators Award, 2010
  • R&D 100 Award – Nanocrystal Solar Cells, 2009