2023 View of Earth

As the world's attention has turned back to space travel in recent years, logistics questions about how to pull off long missions, and maybe even someday life on other planets, have popped up.

ASM Lydia Conterars

Lydia Contreras is one of 65 newly elected American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) class of 2023 fellows.

2023 National Academy of Inventors

Department Chair Delia Milliron and Professor Jennifer Maynard are among four University of Texas at Austin faculty named to the National Academy of Inventors’ 2023 class of Senior Members.

Delbert Max Ottmers Jr. passed away Friday, February 10, 2023. He was an alumnus and former faculty member in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering.

The National Academy of Engineering has elected Benny Freeman, a professor in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, to the academy for 2023.

Methane Emissions Program at Colorado State University

The University of Texas at Austin will be home to a new multidisciplinary research and education initiative based in its Cockrell School of Engineering – the Energy Emissions Modeling and Data Lab (EEMDL) – that will address the growing need for accurate, timely, and clear accounting of greenhouse gas emissions across global oil and natural gas supply chains. 

Mandy Barrera, senior administrative associate, received the 2022 Ruth Crawford Staff Excellence Award at the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering Annual Holiday event, Dec. 10.

The Energy Institute at The University of Texas at Austin and four of the globe’s largest energy companies have launched a new membership program to advance science and create opportunities for energy community members and students.

Texas ChE alumnus José Luis Bravo passed away on November 22, 2022.

Jennifer Maynard Lab

Nearly two years after COVID-19 vaccines entered widespread use, the Cockrell School of Engineering and the College of Natural Sciences have launched Texas Biologics, a cross-disciplinary effort made up of world-renowned faculty members and researchers working across all areas of therapeutics.