David Allen headshot

Professor Dave Allen of the Cockrell School’s McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering will receive a prestigious Eni Award, a top honor in the fields of energy and environmental research.

The most complete picture yet is coming into focus of how antibodies produced in people who effectively fight off SARS-CoV-2 work to neutralize the part of the virus responsible for causing infection. In the journal Science, researchers at The University of Texas at Austin describe the finding, which represents good news for designing the next generation of vaccines to protect against variants of the virus or future emerging coronaviruses.

Celadyne Technologies, a University of Texas at Austin spinout that makes materials to improve hydrogen fuel cells and electrolyzers, has received an investment from Shell Ventures.

Carmen Wright interview banner

The McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering had the opportunity to sit down with an inspirational alumna, Dr. Carmen Wright, the first black female Ph.D. ChE graduate from The University of Texas at Austin.

Corrinne and her father, Craig, now share a unique experience that few father-daughter duos can tout: they are both graduates of the Cockrell School’s McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering.

Membership in the National Academy of Engineering is one of the highest professional distinctions for an engineer, honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research and practice, including pioneering of new and developing fields of technology and making major advancements in engineering. In 2021, Rachel Segalman joins 106 new members and 23 foreign members elected.

Lea Hildebrandt-Ruiz is currently leading an initiative to investigate the surface chemistry of face masks and exposure to potential byproducts formed on different masks depending on the cleaning products used. Her innovative and ground-breaking research work will be foundational in the evolution of air quality research.

Delia Milliron has been a part of innovation from almost every angle. She has established herself as a leader in nanomaterials research, with an early-career resume that includes IBM and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.

Nicholas Peppas has been honored with the 2020 Oesper Award from the University of Cincinnati’s Chemistry Department and the Cincinnati Section of the American Chemical Society for his outstanding accomplishments in and contributions to science.

People say that starting and growing a company is like giving birth and raising a child. For NwaBebé co-founders and Longhorns Texas ChE Associate Professor Lydia Contreras and Dara Chike-Obi (Law ’08, McCombs ’20) , entrepreneurship and motherhood are indeed inextricably tied. “The initial inspiration for NwaBebé was our journey into parenthood,” Chike-Obi says.