The National Academy of Engineering has elected Christine E. Schmidt, who received her bachelor’s degree from the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin in 1988, to the academy for 2024. Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at UT, Noel T. Clemens, has also been elected.

02.06.2024 NAE Schmidt Clemens

Election to the academy is among the highest professional distinctions bestowed upon an engineer. Membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research and practice, including pioneering new and developing fields of technology and making major advancements in the engineering field and profession. In all, 114 new members and 21 foreign members joined the NAE in 2024.

“Throughout his career, Noel has been a global leader in experimental laser imaging systems and techniques, and as an educator and department head, he has been a passionate supporter of his students and faculty colleagues,” said Roger Bonnecaze, dean of the Cockrell School of Engineering. “We are extremely proud of the contributions both he and Christine have made to the advancement of their fields and the impact they have had on society. On behalf of our entire community, I offer my congratulations to both of these outstanding Texas engineers for this tremendous professional honor.”

During the past decade, more than 15 UT professors have been elected to the academy, and the University has nearly 50 current and retired members.

About the new members representing the UT community:

Christine E. Schmidt is a UT alumna and served as faculty member from 1996 to 2012. She is a Distinguished Professor and holds the Pruitt Family Endowed Chair in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida and served as the department’s chair for a decade. She is being recognized for biomaterials and tissue engineering for neural regeneration and improved wound healing, and for leadership in diversifying bioengineering. A fellow and former president of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, Schmidt is also a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, Biomedical Engineering Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, and more. In 2017, she was inducted into the inaugural class of McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering's Academy of Distinguished Chemical Engineers

Noel T. Clemens holds the Clare Cockrell Williams Centennial Chair in Engineering in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at the Cockrell School of Engineering. He is being recognized for laser-based measurements to understand and control high-speed reactive and nonreactive flows. He has served on the faculty since 1993 and as aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics department chair from 2012 to 2020. A fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Clemens is also a former National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty fellow and former editor-in-chief of the journal Experiments in Fluids.

 Adapted from UT News original article.