Recent Awards

Alumna Van Truskett Receives AIChE Industrial Research & Development Award

Posted on:

Van N. Truskett, B.S. ChE ‘96 and jetting technology manager at Canon Nanotechnologies, Inc., has been selected to receive the 2014 Industrial Research & Development Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).

The award honors individuals or teams working in industries served by chemical engineers for innovation that has resulted in the successful … Read the rest »

George Georgiou Named Top 20 Translational Researcher

Posted on:

Nature Biotechnology ranked George Georgiou, a professor in the Cockrell School of Engineering, one of the world’s top 20 translational researchers in 2013.

Georgiou, a renowned biomedical engineer and molecular biologist, is a leading authority in the discovery, development and manufacturing of protein therapeutics. Nature Biotechnology recognized Georgiou for his … Read the rest »

Nicholas Peppas Named A Highly Cited Researcher

Posted on:

Nicholas Peppas, the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering, has been included in the 2014 Thomas Reuters’ list of Highly Cited Researchers.

This list recognizes many of the world’s leading scientific minds and is comprised of more than 3,200 researchers in 21 fields of the sciences and social sciences. Peppas was one of seven … Read the rest »

Lydia Contreras Receives Norman Hackerman Award for Biosensor Research

Posted on:

Lydia Contreras, assistant professor and the Chevron Centennial Teaching Fellow in Chemical Engineering, has been awarded a Norman Hackerman Award for her work to develop biosensors to monitor effects of environmental pollutants.

The annual award recognizes early-career researchers who have expanded the field and comes with a $100,000 prize. The highly competitive honor is named … Read the rest »

Nicholas Peppas Wins 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering

Posted on:

Professor Nicholas Peppas, the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, has been selected to win the 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering from the Chemistry, Material and Chemical Engineering Department “Giulio Natta” (CMIC) of the Politecnico Di Milano.

The Giulio Natta Medal is given in … Read the rest »

Professor Emeritus Jim Stice Receives ASEE Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted on:

Jim Stice, the Bob R. Dorsey Professor Emeritus in the Cockrell School of Engineering, has been awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) for his dedicated work to improve teaching effectiveness.

The annual award recognizes individuals for sustained contributions to education in the fields of engineering and engineering technology.

Stice, … Read the rest »

Grad Student Krystian Perez Wins Energy Research Fellowship

Posted on:

Graduate Student Krystian Perez (Edgar Group) won first place in the Pike Powers Energy Research Fellowship Awards at the International WikiEnergy Data Conference hosted by Pecan Street Inc. at UT Austin June 3-4, 2014.

“We put our groundbreaking energy research dataset in the hands of the world’s best researchers, and they truly delivered,” said Pecan Street Inc. … Read the rest »

Hal Alper Receives Jay Bailey Young Investigator Award

Posted on:

Hal Alper, assistant professor and Fellow of the Paul D. and Betty Robertson Meek Centennial Professorship, has been selected by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) to receive the Jay Bailey Young Investigator Award in Metabolic Engineering.

The award recognizes original and creative research accomplishments by a young investigator in the field of metabolic engineering, … Read the rest »

Top Presenters Announced For Grad Student Seminar Series

Posted on:

The department is pleased to announce top presenters for this year’s Graduate Student Seminar Series, as voted by attending first-year and third-year Ph.D. students:

Top Presenter
Nathan Fine
(Rochelle Group)
Nitrosamines in Amine Scrubbing

Nathan’s research focuses on the environmental impact of nitrosamines, known carcinogens, on the amine scrubbing process for carbon capture.

Josh Laber (Maynard Group)… Read the rest »

Janet H. Lowe Honored As Cockrell School Distinguished Alumni

Posted on:

Engineer-turned-entrepreneur Janet H. Lowe, B.S. ChE ‘79, was recently named a Distinguished Alumni by the Cockrell School of Engineering at spring commencement.

Lowe, co-founder and principal of consulting company LTI LLC, was one of six alumni selected to receive a 2014 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award. Established in 1957, the Distinguished Engineering Graduate Award recognizes … Read the rest »